No really, you only live once

“You only live once” said….hmmm…everyone. Sayings that we have come to know as “cliche” are cliche because we have heard them over and over and over again. But there’s a reason they keep being said!

You only have this one life to do EVERYTHING you want to do. One lifetime out of the millions of billions of years the universe has going for it. In case you haven’t caught on, that’s not very much time. Sure it may seem like F.O.R.E.V.E.R until you turn 21, or until your kids turn 18 and move out, but time just keeps on chugging along whether you choose to take advantage of it or not.

Do you hate your job? Do you want to live somewhere warmer? Somewhere cooler? Do you want to take up a new hobby but just haven’t “gotten around to it?”

JUST DO IT! It really is that easy. If I could, I would come see you personally, sit down and beg you to stop doing what you don’t want to do. Yes, change is scary, I get that. I have a great job (one that I love fortunately), I live in a city I think is amazing, and I just bought a house. I live paycheck to paycheck with just enough left over for a date night here and there. I don’t have much in savings, but I’m working on paying off my current debt. I have realized that, yes, I am “content” but I’m not where I want to be, and I’m not doing exactly what I want to be doing. So you know what I am going to do? Exactly what I want to.

I’m simplifying, getting rid of just about everything, putting my house up for lease and moving to Hawaii to teach people self-defense. Am I scared? A little. Am I going to let that stop me? Nope.

You are the only thing standing in your way. “I don’t have enough money” “My family is here” “I don’t know where to begin” all great excuses, but they are just that, excuses!

Have faith in the universe. As long as everything you do is done with good intentions, you CAN NOT go wrong. This may sound like a bunch of fluff to you, but have a little faith and follow your dreams. What’s the worse that can happen? Let’s see….you could

A) Keep living a mediocre life, not really ever getting to do what you want to do, not really making the difference you want to make, going to work every day at a job you don’t like, paying for things that don’t really fulfill your life

OR

B) You can get rid of superficial things that you work your miserable job to keep, knowing that when you die you can’t bring those things with you anyway – and get the job you’ve always wanted; work part-time so you can live full-time; go where you want to go, live how you want to live.

I could end up completely broke and the business I want to start might fail, but you know what, who cares, I’ll work a small job at a grocery store, or I’ll clean houses, or I’ll be a nanny, or you know what, maybe I’ll even end up homeless. No matter what happens, at least I won’t die wondering “what if?” At least I won’t waste the life that was given to me being miserable because I was too afraid to give it my all.

Fear is an emotion that I control. The only thing standing in my way is me. The only thing standing in your way is you.

“Everyone will die, unfortunately, not everyone will live.” – unknown

Leave a Reply

